My Heart Is Full (of wool)

IMG_1492-1

I recently decided that I wanted to make a baby blanket for a friend.  I’ve spent the last few years taking teeny-tiny steps toward changing my habits as a consumer, so I saw this as an opportunity to change the way I buy.  It was time to find a local yarn supplier!  So naturally, I hit Etsy.

This is where I found Shady Side Farm.  Which is a little funny, seeing as I shared a dorm suite with a Shady Side family member around 5 years ago (thanks internet, for showing me that I’m terrible at connecting with people I live with).  But anyway, I found some lovely yarn at a very lovely price.  I found out that not only would they be selling it on sight, it would be during their annual sheep shearing!  Eric, I said, we’re going to hang out with sheep and buy some wool.

So, we went, hung out with animals (and their babies!!), bought some wool, watched the shearing, AND ran into my suite-mate from college.  Stay tuned for a post chronicling my journey with the unwashed wool yarn I purchased!  And I would be doing you all a disservice if I didn’t also tell you that my suite-mate’s name is Anne, and she is a most excellent human being with an excellent blog.

I’m having trouble finding words for how completely geeked out I was (and still am) about all of this, so I’ll let these pictures speak for themselves:

IMG_1490-1

IMG_1487-1IMG_1488-1

IMG_1486-1

IMG_1477-1

IMG_1476-1

Peace out and live well,

Chelsea

One thought on “My Heart Is Full (of wool)

  1. To be fair, I didn’t exactly advertise my farm-lovin’ ways when we were suitemates…but now? Psssht. Now I realize how awesome the homestead is.

Leave a Reply

